No fewer than 20 members of courses 34 and 35 may proceed on retirement as the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.),  on Tuesday removed service chiefs and appointed a new set of officers to replace them.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina,  in a statement titled, ‘President Buhari appoints new service chiefs,’ named officers who would head the nation’s armed forces.

According to him, they include Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Lucky Irabor; Chief of Army Staff,  Major-General I. Attahiru; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, and the Chief of Air Staff,  Air-Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao.

Shortly after the appointment of the service chiefs, sources in the Nigerian Army told The PUNCH that the appointment of the new service chiefs might force no fewer than 20 generals in regiment courses  34 and 35 to retire. While Attahiru is a member of Course 35, Irabor is a member of Course 34.

Earlier in his statement, the Presidential spokesman,  Adesina,  stated, “President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the service chiefs, and their retirement from service.

“Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their ‘overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,’ wishing them well in their future endeavours.

“The new service chiefs are: Major-General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”